Will I lose my license if arrested for DUI in Washington?
Yes, if you are arrested in Washington State for DUI (driving under the influence) your license can be suspended for 90 days to 2 years. You have to act fast if you want to fight losing your license. Washington DUI laws require that you request a hearing to contest your license suspension within 20 days!
If you do not request a hearing or you are not successful in your hearing, then your Washington drivers license will be suspended for 90 days to 2 years depending on prior offenses and the specific details of your case. The suspension will begin 60 days from the date of your DUI arrest.
If your hearing is successful, but you are later convicted of DUI, your license will be suspended as part of the DUI conviction penalties.
Penalties for 1st DUI conviction in Washington State
- 24 hours to 1 year in Jail.
- Fine from $865 to $5000
- Mandatory alcohol assessment and treatment with ignition interlock device.
Being convicted of DUI in Washington can have life changing consequences, so it is important that you take a DUI arrest seriously. You should contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible after your DUI arrest. Having an experienced Washington criminal defense attorney representing you can greatly increase your chance of having charges reduced or even dismissed.